The crimes in Virginia are categorized as either felonies or misdemeanor. The misdemeanors are the crimes that are punished for at least 12 months or less than that in jail. Felonies are the charges associated with crimes that are published for more than one year in prison. Both the felonies and misdemeanors can also be punished with the driver’s and fines license supervision. Class 1 misdemeanor Virginia is considered the highest class of misdemeanors in Virginia, and it is punished up to 12 months in jail, whereas class 4 is the lowest level of misdemeanors in Virginia. The misdemeanors in Virginia can be punished up to 12 months in jail with the fine of almost $2,500 and the suspension of the license of the driver as well. The charges for the license violations, DUI, drug convictions, and the reckless driving can cause the suspension of the license of the driver.
In Virginia, Class 1 and 2 misdemeanors can be punished for a long time in jail. Thus, the individual who is accused of class 2 or class 1 misdemeanor Virginia has the complete right to got to the attorney for the submission of their case and their protection. If an individual cannot afford to hire a lawyer for the case, then he must be interviewed to see that if the can qualify for the court appointed lawyer or not. Class 3 and 4 misdemeanors are punished with the fines. Therefore, they will not get the opportunity to be interviewed by the court-appointed lawyers.
Class 1 Misdemeanor
Class 1 misdemeanor is the highest level of a misdemeanor in Virginia. It can be punished for almost 12 months in jail with the whopping amount of fine including the $2,500 or both. It can also be punished with the license of the driver for particular offenses. Class 1 misdemeanor Virginia includes the assault, petty larceny, possession of schedule and trespass controlled substance. There are some types of traffic offenses, which are considered as the crimes in Virginia. The second offense, reckless driving, or DUI is a license charge and especially driving on the suspended license is considered as the class 1 misdemeanors.
Class 2 Misdemeanors
Class 2 misdemeanors are punished with the imprisoning for almost six months with a fine of $1,000 or both. The punishment of class 2 misdemeanor is less as compared to the Class 1 misdemeanor Virginia. The possession of the controlled substance and driving without any license is included in the Class 2 misdemeanors in Virginia.
Class 3 Misdemeanors
Class 3 misdemeanors in Virginia are punished with the comparatively lower fine of $500. The class 3 misdemeanors in Virginia include the possession of the schedule V substance and the property destruction of any individual with the theft intention.
Class 4 Misdemeanors
Class 4 misdemeanors in Virginia are linked with the punishment of almost $250. This is the lowest level of misdemeanors in Virginia. The charges included with the class 4 misdemeanors include drinking in public and the possession of the controlled substance VI.
The criminal charges in Virginia need to be taken seriously whether it is the least serious crime like class 4 misdemeanors or the most serious crime class 1 misdemeanors Virginia.