The laws against the act of hit and run are particularly strict in Prince William Virginia. The penalties incurred by a person facing a hit and run charge in Prince William Virginia can be severe. In the case that the driver who is accused of a hit and runs is found guilty and is convicted, it can become a permanent part of the criminal record of the accused. The law of Virginia enjoins that the driver involved in a car accident has to report it to the law enforcement agencies. Failure to do so can result in a hit and run charge in Prince William Virginia, and this is why a hit and run is also known as “Failure to Report an Accident.”
The traffic laws in Virginia require that in case a driver is involved in a car accident, they must stop at the scene of the event regardless of their responsibility in the accident. In addition, a hit and run charge in Prince William Virginia can be made against the driver if they refuse to give their driver’s license number, name, address, and vehicle registration information to the other driver(s) involved in the accident. The law also expects that the driver should assist any individuals that might be injured in the accident.
Hit and run charge in Prince William Virginia applies not only to individuals but also can be applied to property damage. The Va. Code 46.2-896 is the relevant law for hit and run charges associated with property damage to the unoccupied territory. Unoccupied territory can refer to a vehicle unattended by an occupants or real estate property. In both cases, the driver is required to find the owner of the unoccupied property and provide their vehicle information to the owner. It may happen that the driver is unable to locate the owner of the damaged property. In this situation, the law expects that the driver would leave a note on the site of the accident with the driver’s contact and vehicle information. The incident must also be reported to the police within a period of 24 hours. The report must describe the damage that has been to the damage, specifying the location, date, and time of the accident. Failure to report the accident to the police within 24 hours can lead to a hit and run charge in Prince William Virginia under Va. Code 46.2-896
The damage to occupied or unoccupied property can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the extent of the damage caused. A class misdemeanor occurs if unoccupied property damage has been caused. The punishment is usually a fine of up to $250 in addition to 3 demerit points given to the driver’s record. An unoccupied territory damage of more than $250 can lead to class 1 misdemeanor. In this case, the convicted driver may be sentenced to 12 months in jail with a fine up to $2,500 in addition to 3 demerit points to the driver record of the offending driver. An occupied property damage of more than $1,000 is severe enough as a hit and run charge in Prince Williams Virginia that it can be classified as a class 5 felony. The punishment for this felony can be up to 10 years in prison, with a fine up to $2,500. A hit and run charge can have serious repercussions on the record of a driver in Prince William Virginia. It is therefore recommended to seek the services of a trained lawyer to deal with a hit and run conviction.