What is reckless driving Virginia first offense?
What if it’s your first ticket? Will you be penalized similarly? How harsh will the judge be on you? These are very important questions if you have committed this offense for the first time. It is crucial for everyone to understand how Virginia treats reckless driving.
- Reckless driving generally
According to Virginia code section 46.2 – 852,
“Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.”
- Reckless driving By speed
According to Virginia code section 46.2 – 862, it is forbidden to over-speed on the highway of Virginia.
- The drivers are forbidden to drive at or above the speed of 80 miles per hour
- The drivers are forbidden to drive at a speed of 20 miles per hour above the stated speed limit
- Reckless driving (aggressively)
According to Virginia code section 46.2 – 868.1, aggressively reckless driving results in severe injuries and it can even cause the death of innocent victims. There are many acts of driving, which are categorized as aggressive reckless driving charges.
- When a person is driving on the right side of the highway
- When a person is not following lane markings
- When a person is not maintaining proper distance with the other vehicle
- Overtaking without giving proper signals
- Overtaking from the right side
- Not giving way to the vehicle, which is overtaking after giving proper indication
- Reckless driving (Racing on highways)
According to Virginia code section 46.2-865:
“Any person who engages in a race between two or more motor vehicles on the highways in the Commonwealth or on any driveway or premises of a church, school, recreational facility, or business property open to the public in the Commonwealth shall be guilty of reckless driving, unless authorized by the owner of the property or his agent. When any person is convicted of reckless driving under this section, in addition to any other penalties provided by law the driver’s license of such person shall be suspended by the court for a period of not less than six months nor more than two years. In case of conviction, the court shall order the surrender of the license to the court where it shall be disposed of in accordance with the provisions of § 46.2-398.”
The penalties for reckless driving
- Hefty Fines
- Jail time
- Suspension of driving license
- Demerit points
How court decides reckless driving penalties
The court considers multiple factors before finalizing the penalties for any criminal offense. The punishment and their severity depend on multiple factors, such as:
- Reckless driving type and its severity
- The consequences of the reckless driving act
- Past driving record of the driver
- The location of the reckless driving offense
Steps to mitigate reckless driving charges
The first step is to contact an experienced attorney to deal with your reckless driving Virginia first offense case. It is the most immediate action you should take after getting a reckless driving ticket. The reckless driving attorney will guide you regarding all the mitigating factors and would help you in adopting the best defensive strategy for your case.